Book Reviews Books Lifestyle

Book Review: Love, Life, And The List By Kasie West

Book Review: Love, Life, And The List by Kasie West - Fervently Curious

Funny and romantic, this story about family, friendship, and finding yourself is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

Love, Life, And The List by Kasie West - Book Review Fervently Curious

5 Stars Fervently Curious

 

Title: Love, Life, And The List

Author: Kasie West

Pages: 384

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Synopsis: Goodreads

Buy The Book:

Amazon India // Book Depository // Amazon USA

 

 


I don’t remember the last time I read and ENJOYED a contemporary YA romance. I went into this book excited but expecting to be disappointed. Because that is what happens with every other contemporary YA romance book I have read.

I was pleasantly surprised.

The story follows Abigail (Abby) Turner, a 17-year-old who loves painting. She has unrequited feelings for her best friend Cooper Wells. She wants her art to be displayed at a museum. But she is told, by a museum curator, that her art doesn’t have heart and depth.

Enter The Heart List.

Abby has one month to complete all the tasks on the list in an attempt to grow her heart and get into the show.

Abby recruits Cooper to help her and together they set out to complete all the tasks. One of the challenges is to face their fears, the other to try something new. Some challenges are harder than the others. All this, amidst the growing concern of her mother’s agoraphobia (a condition where a person doesn’t leave the house) and her feelings for Cooper.

Love, Life, and The List is full of sarcasm, challenges, friendship, love, and family. It is well written, the characters are well fleshed out, and the pace is perfect.

I loved Abby. I loved how she was so determined to complete the list so she could grow as an artist. Even though she was afraid of going out of her comfort zone, she still did it. She kept trying even when things went wrong. I loved that about her.

I loved her family too! It’s so important for a child’s family to support their dreams. And I loved how Kasie West showcased that in this book. I loved Abby’s Grandpa. He was a perfect character, full of sarcasm and wisdom. 

I wasn’t expecting to cry when I read this. But there was something in the end that I could relate to and I felt bad for Abby. I wanted to sit down and tell her it’s alright. These feelings won’t last. Things will get better. I was happy to see her get up and fix herself. I think that made me love her even more.

Overall, I loved this book. In case I haven’t already made it clear. If you love sweet, fun, contemporary YA romance, you will love this one!

Fervently Curious

Have you read Love, Life, And The List? Did you like it?

Have you read any other Kasie West book? Which one of her books should I read next?

If you are a contemporary YA romance reader, please suggest books you think I will enjoy. I really need to read more of this genre.

Previous Post Next Post

You may also like

9 Comments

  • Reply Marie

    I am so happy to hear you enjoyed this book 🙂 I have read just one book by Kasie West, The Distance Between Us and it was an adorable romance, I had a lot of fun reading it. To recommend other contemporaries, I could say Morgan Matson’s books, Sarah Dessen’s books as well, The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett was amazing, I think you’d really like that one? 🙂
    Lovely review! 🙂

    January 8, 2018 at 11:50 pm
    • Reply Sushmita

      I was thinking about starting Since You’ve Been Gone. Or should I start with The Unexpected Everything? I am confused.
      I also recently read Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett and loved it. I already plan on picking up The Anatomical Shape of A Heart.

      January 10, 2018 at 10:21 am
      • Reply Marie

        Oh I loved both so much, you can totally start with Since You’ve Been Gone, it was fantastic 🙂

        January 11, 2018 at 12:06 am
        • Reply Sushmita

          Then that’s what I will start with. Thank you <3

          January 11, 2018 at 10:47 am
          • Marie

            You’re welcome! <3 <3

            January 12, 2018 at 12:11 am
  • Reply Raven @ Dreamy Addictions

    Great Review! I have this book in my TBR but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m glad you loved it! I like Kasie West’s books! My favorite is The Fill-In Boyfriend! It’s a total fun read. I hope you give it a shot!

    January 9, 2018 at 2:42 am
    • Reply Sushmita

      Thank you! I hope you will like it too. I had never read Kasie West and I am so glad I did. She is now my new fav. author.
      I just read The Fill in Boyfriend and you are right. It was really fun and so sweet.

      January 10, 2018 at 10:25 am
  • Reply shyam pdhi

    Very good keep it up

    January 9, 2018 at 10:46 am
  • Leave a Reply